Johnson Sakaja wins the Nairobi Governor seat


Nairobi has a new Governor. Nairobi County Returning Officer, Albert Gogo declared Sakaja the winner after he garnered 699,392 votes against Polycarp Igathe who garnered 573,518 votes.

Sakaja was declared the winner while he was at Karen attending a church function. His win came months after he was accused of holding a fake degree from Team University. But despite several court cases he emerged the winner.

Johnson Sakaja was vying on UDA ticket,a party which has scooped majority of seats in the Senate. He is the outgoing Senator of Nairobi County, a seat won by Azimio Candidate Edwin Sifuna.

Polycarp Igathe has already conceded defeat and thanked Azimio for the support.

Sakaja becomes the third governor of Nairobi.The first governor was Evans Kidero who only completed one term and was defeated by Mike Sonko.Sonko’s leadership was short-lived ,he was impeached and never allowed to contest again.Igathe was Sonko’s deputy,he resigned even before the impeachment date.It’s because of his actions that majority of Nairobians didn’t vote for him.